BCSSA announces recipients of the 2021 Scholarships

Posted by British Columbia Summer Swimming Association on Aug 09 2021 at 09:22PM PDT

BC Summer Swimming has chosen the 2021 recipients for their annual scholarships. There were a record number of excellent and worthy applicants this year, making the decisions challenging for the Awards & Recognition Committee.

Ian Allen Scholarship: Maya Kennedy, Vancouver Vikings Swim Club

Presented annually since 2013 to current and/or past BCSSA member who is planning to, or are presently attending a post-secondary institution, in recognition of their commitment and dedication to BCSSA and the wider community.

Maya Kennedy has been a member of the Vancouver Vikings Swim Club since 2015, participating as an athlete for 6 years and a coach for 3. Maya says that she “loved connecting with teammates and cheering on my friends from the stands during meets…” Maya has been able to maintain near perfect academic standings, a full volunteer schedule with multiple volunteer executive positions in community based non-profit organizations, and supporting her mother through stroke recovery at home. Through the challenges, Maya has developed a deep passion for helping others and unwavering optimism. We wish Maya every success in September as she pursues her dream of being a doctor at the University of Pennsylvania (Life Sciences and Management Program).

TAS Coach Scholarship: Katherine Toy, White Rock Amateur Swimming Association (WRASA)

Presented annually in partnership with Team Aquatic Supplies, this scholarship recognizes an experienced BCSSA registered coach with minimum NCCP FUNdamentals Certification who is returning to full-time post-secondary education, having successfully completed at least 1 year of study.

Katherine Toy has been a member of the White Rock Amateur Swimming Association (WRASA) club since 2006 and during this time has received 62 provincial medals, and broken 3 provincial records. Katherine volunteered as a Senior Leader from 2014-2016 and then became a summer coach in 2017, continuing with winter coaching from 2015 onwards. Katherine also contributes as a coach with Special Olympics both in BC and Ontario, traveling to the Special Olympic World Games in Abu Dhabi in 2018. She attributes her passion for training and competing to previous coaches and she strives to “foster the same joy and enthusiasm in the swimmers I coach by centering my coaching philosophy around the FUNdamentals.” We wish Katherine every success as she returns to Hamilton and McMaster University in the Health Sciences program with the ultimate goal of being a doctor.

Regional Prizes

Each of the 8 BCSSA Regions annually awards 1 bursary of $1,000 each to graduating grade 12 BCSSA athletes who have extensive involvement in their community as well as their BCSSA club & region. They must be attending a post-secondary institution in the upcoming academic year.

p(.* Cariboo:* Joel Harris, Dawson Creek Seals
Fraser South: Devon Matson, Boundary Bay Bluebacks
Fraser Valley: Brittany Paget, Abbotsford Whalers
Kootenays: Madeline Holitzki, Nelson Neptunes
Okanagan: Anya Raymond, Kelowna Ogopogos
Simon Fraser: Max Hamanishi, Coquitlam Sharks
Vancouver & Districts: Kristopher Kirkwood, North Vancouver Cruisers Aquatic Club
Vancouver Island: Cameron Laturnus, Nanaimo White Rapids Swim Club

The document Scholarship_2021_Fnl.pdf was attached to this post.


There are no comments for this announcement.